Foreword

January 4, 2010

I used up my last blank book a couple of months ago.  That is how I have always logged my reading.  The system has broken down of late.  As in, the last, oh, five years.  Most of the time I was just writing title, author, dates, and leaving a blank page underneath to come back to.  Now I am reduced writing all those things down on a crumpled sheet of yellow paper that has weaving notes on the back, until I can find a blank book I like, and transfer them.  That’s taking a while, since I’m picky about the size of blank books.  And I hate lined paper.  And I hate to shop.

I have kept a weaving blog for a couple of years.  I read a small number of book blogs, which I have enjoyed very much and sometimes even found to be a source of giddy pleasure.  I read weaving blogs, too, but they don’t make me giddy or supply me with novels.

If I can help someone find some good books, or validate a few reading peeves and passions, that seems pretty good.

Also, it makes me feel creepy leaving comments on my favorite book blogs when all they can track me down to is a weaving blog, with nothing about books on it, and a lot of scary weaving words.  Who is this weaver posing as a reader?

Rather the reverse.  Weaving is just this thing I do.  Books are my bread, my water, my wine.

So, I’m going to try bringing it out in the open for a while with the new decade.  My memory is atrocious.  Typing is easy.  Finding a new blank book is hard.  Maybe the smidge of accountability will help me actually write some impressions.

4 Responses to “Foreword”

  1. nymeth said

    Your comments were never creepy. I love them – they’re so thoughtful – and I’m sure I’m going to love this blog too 🙂

  2. Jeanne said

    Can you explain your title a little bit? (Do you think you react more negatively than others to what you read?)

    • Trapunto said

      Possibly I do react more negatively than others to what I read, but I hope not!

      The title is meant to be a double pun on Villa Villekulla, Pippi Longstocking’s house; and the Via Negativa, Thomas Aquinas’ term for the method of proving what is by what isn’t. (I was a philosophy major.)

  3. Jeanne said

    Now I love your title!

Leave a Reply

